top of page

Simply. Live. Wholesome.

Simply. Live. Wholesome.... What does that mean you ask?

sim·ply ~ merely; just.

live ~ remain alive.

whole·some ~ conducive to or promoting moral well-being

The last month and a half has been a bit of a whirlwind....between my hubby's heart issues, my mothers cardiovascular issues and Aunt Pat's shoulder replacement we have had our hands full and many visits to hospitals.

  • Hugi is doing very well since ablation as far as we know he has only had a few VTach episodes... YAY!! Thank you God!! Go in for our post-op follow up tomorrow so we will see what she says our future will look like.

  • My mom as I am sitting at the hospital (again) she is in having an angiogram on her right leg to see where the artery is blocked... Update later

  • Aunt Pat had a very successful shoulder replacement!! We spent almost 3 weeks with her helping her recover. So thankful that we are able to be there for our family!

As I was waiting with my mom in her room before they took her down I was reading an interview that Oprah did for Weight Watchers... your probably thinking where is she going with this.. did she not get enough sleep... is the 3:45am wake up catching up with her.. LOL! But, anyways.. I have always struggled with my weight as far back as I can remember. I have also struggled with who and what is staring back at me in the mirror. I have done so many different "weight loss plans". I am an emotional eater have been and continue to be.. I know it is something that I NEED to gain control over. I KNOW food is not the answer. I KNOW that it is a fleeting feeling and that I am NOT hungry. I have also felt like I failed when I would have a mishap in my daily eating and sometimes I would just throw it all away for that day saying.. TOMORROW... I will start again TOMORROW... well where is TOMORROW... IT IS TODAY!

They say that accepting your "problem" is the first thing...well I stand before you now saying.. I have a problem! I have gained 29 lbs since June 17, 2015, I worked my ASS off to look amazing in my wedding dress and YES I did it, I looked stunning! Hugi and I both worked very hard to loose the weight we did and man did we look amazing! We did it then.. so why is it so hard this time! After reading that article this morning I want to change the way I am looking at this, I want us to change the way we are approaching this whole thing. It is more about being OK with who you are while striving to become a better person, to become healthier..

as long as YOU are happy, content, and living the life YOU want.. the hell with everyone else!

This is your life so make YOU a priority, have dreams and turn them into goals.

Our dream is to hike the Colorado Trail! 486 miles from Denver to Durango with everything we need in our packs on our backs. We are turning our dream into a reality.. in 3 months.. 25 days.. 20 hours.. 53 min.. 53 sec we will start the trail at Waterton Canyon just outside of Denver. It will take us 4-5 weeks to complete. It will be a time of triumph, time of questioning.. why in the hell are we lugging a 35lb pack up and over all these mountains! time of awe at the majesty of God's design.. a time of bonding even deeper with my best friend... and a time of just needing space and quiet..

So back to the Simply. Live. Wholesome those are 3 words that sum up the life we want to live. After 43 years of living a life of taking care kids(NOT saying this is a bad thing!!), houses, working, worrying about the size of your house, the car you drive and how much money is in the bank.. We look back and say we did good, we did what we thought was best at the time, we did the best we knew how to do. Now we just want to live a simple, happy, wholesome life! There is more to life than all of that!

I commit to start living this today. I commit to learning to LOVE myself. I commit to striving everyday to be a better version of myself. I commit to loving harder... laughing louder. I commit to choose happiness... to choose simple...

To start to reach for our goals, to make me a priority, to put our hiking training into a action, to hold each other accountable for what we eat and how we exercise!

Sorry if this post was all over the place.. maybe the 3:45am wake up is catching up with me!

Make it a great day!!

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page