top of page

Spread your wings my child and soar

As a parent you want what is best for you child, you want them to reach for the stars, you want them to live a life that they dreamed... not you! While raising my girls I never wanted to stand in the way of their dreams, their loves, their careers, their address, etc. I was blessed enough to raise 4 amazing, strong, smart, beautiful, and loving daughters. They didn't have it easy growing up.. they had to work for whatever they wanted outside of the basic needs that were provided. As I look back I feel as though I did a pretty good job. I am by no stretch of the means a perfect parent.. actually far from it, I made many wrong choices in raising my kids... but then again who doesn't. I always tried to teach them that money does NOT equal happiness! You are in charge of your own DESTINEE....(you will get this in a bit), you do not have to have the white picket fence that society says you should have.

My beautiful daughter and grandson

You want the house, the kids, the car, the dog...go for it

You want SIMPLE.. You want to hike across the country for a year.. than go for it!

NOTHING is wrong with either one as long it is what YOU want!

After attending our wedding in July 2015 the kids feel in LOVE with Colorado! Especially Destinee, Although Bri has a heart for it, her time has not come yet. But Destinee is a bright, amazing, loving, giving, carefree and determined 20 year old with a pure soul and a heart of gold. Last spring she took a solo road trip for a couple of weeks to find herself, to see what it was that Destinee wanted.. not what everyone else wanted for her. Upon returning she says " I want to move there!" I say to her, "you are young with no responsibilities with your whole life ahead of you... go and spread your wings", although I said " I will miss you like crazy!!!'

After another short visit out to Colorado.. see I have family out there and she has really clicked with my cousin and his girlfriend! So she wasn't alone. It was the beginning of 2017 and she comes to me and says, "Mom, I am going to do it. I am moving to Colorado". It was such a bittersweet moment as a parent to know that one of your baby girls will be flying from the Wisconsin nest. So the preparation began.... she gave her notice at work, started working on paring down her stuff, made arrangements with my cousin to move in together... which I was happy about.. she wouldn't be alone.

The date was approaching fast, my husband and I offered to drive out with her to tow her U Haul and help her to get settled in. We helped her along with her father and cousins to load up the U Haul and get our baby girl one step closer to flying!

We planned a send-off party and man was that emotional! Watching her sisters, Nana and cousins say "See you later" Was a very special day as we celebrated Destinee!

Then early the next morning we would pull out... destination... COLORADO!!!

As we drove all day an stayed in a Walmart parking lot just east of the Colorado state line. But seeing that Colorado State sign was so exciting, was so real, was the beginning of the next chapter for Destinee and Gracie.

We had planned to spend some extra time with her in Colorado to share with her some of our favorite places.. Took her to Telluride, Ouray, and Silverton, and drove on the Million Dollar Highway.

She is HOME!

Destinee with her best friend Gracie!!

Within a week she was settled in her new place and was offered a full-time job doing what she loves.. working with dogs!

We are all so proud of her! We love her so much and are so very excited to see that things are going wonderful for her!

As a mom it is still hard to not have her here, but no matter where she or I may go we will always be together. With technology today we stay in constant communication.

We love you, Destinee!!!!


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page